news from the butchery

on Monday January 19th they hired a third butcher to replace T.  you won’t recall because I am sure you have a life that they sacked T on December 10th.  so that’s just short of six weeks.   let us review:  the shop is open seven days a week.  with the exception of Sunday, which is an 8-9 hour workday for the butchers’ department, each workday is about 14 hours long.  So how do only two butchers cover for all of that time?  More to the point, how do two butchers cover for all of that time and not deteriorate into ghoulish husks of their former selves?

foreribs and loins of beef, whole lamb, suckling pig

foreribs and loins of beef, whole lamb, suckling pig

on Monday, January 19th I got my hair cut (for free by a friend of a friend).  when I emerged from the Covent Garden tube station on my way to the salon, blinking into the outside light like some pathetic trog, I burst into “Little Mermaid”-inspired song:

Look at this meat,
Isn’t it neat?
Wouldn’t you think my training’s complete?
Wouldn’t you think I’m the girl
The girl who has everything?
Look at this shop
Treasures untold
How many wonders can one display case hold?
Looking around here you think
Sure, she’s got everything
I’ve got pork chops and pâté a-plenty
I’ve got chickens and sirloins galore
You want lamb shanks?
I’ve got twenty!
But who cares?
No big deal
I want more

I wanna be where the people are
I wanna see, wanna see them dancin’
Walking around having their – what do you call ’em?
Oh – lives!

Sawing bones, you don’t get too far
Legs of lamb aren’t required for jumping, dancing
Strolling along down a – what’s that word again?
Street

Up where they walk, up where they run
Up where they stay all day in the overcast,
Wanderin’ free – wish I could be
Part of that world

london-snow-026

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “news from the butchery

  1. jessieinwonderland

    That was such a clever rendition of the classic, Under the Sea. You really have a talent for lyrics my love…

Leave a Reply

